SPENDL Money Card Review (2026)

The SPENDL Money Card is a Mastercard debit card with a R25/month fee, available in South Africa.

Reviewed by Card Pilled Editorial · Last verified 2026-09-20

Key Facts

Cashback
0%
Annual Fee
R25/month
Region
South Africa
Type
Debit
Network
Mastercard
KYC
full

Overview

SPENDL Money is a South African crypto-to-fiat payments platform operated by the team behind Cardware Wallet (Africa's first air-gapped hardware wallet). Licensed as an authorized Financial Service Provider under the FSCA.

The SPENDL Money Card is a crypto debit card offered by SPENDL Money (Cardware), available in South Africa. The annual fee starts at R25/month. It runs on the Mastercard network and requires full identity verification.

Cashback Tiers

SPENDL Money Card cashback tiers and requirements
TierRateRequirement
Smart0%KYC level 2 (asylum seeker document, work permit or foreign national passport). R25,000 spend limit. No cashback; the Rewards feature is XP, levels and leaderboards only
Savvy0%KYC level 3 (foreign national passport, South African ID, or asylum seeker document or work permit). R100,000 spend limit, R25,000 maximum monthly deposits and spend
Guru0%KYC level 4 (passport plus work permit, or South African ID plus proof of residence). R500,000 spend limit

Pros

Cons

Cost & Returns

On $500/mo spend, the estimated monthly cost breakdown for SPENDL Money Card is: gas $0.00, conversion spread $7.50, flat/FX fees $0.00, and amortised card/tier fee $25.00, for a total drag of 6.5% of spend. After $0.00/mo cashback that is still a net cost of about $32.50/mo ($390.00/yr). SPENDL Money Card tops up from a centralized balance, so there is no on-chain gas cost regardless of how often you reload. Figures are conservative estimates and vary with conditions.

Note: South African FSCA-licensed crypto-to-fiat debit card (launched Oct 30, 2025). Supports 12 cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, etc.) deposited from hardware/software wallets or exchanges, converted to ZAR same-day. Tiered account plans: R25,000 to R500,000 top-up limits. Worldwide Mastercard acceptance (40,000+ merchants). Free nationwide card delivery in South Africa. R99 account opening fee. Bank-level security via regulated bank partner. No cashback — primary value prop is legal, transparent crypto-to-fiat conversion in South Africa. CORRECTION (2026-08-27): the R99 account fee previously recorded appears in no official document; the published fee is R25 per month. Published fees also include international point of sale at R45.00 plus 1.56%, local ATM at R12.50 plus R2.50 per R100, international ATM at R100.00 flat, and card replacement at R100.00. The previously recorded description of bank-level security via a regulated bank partner is contradicted by Spendl's own terms, which state that ZAR balances sit in a pooled client account at a licensed third-party payment provider, are not bank deposits in Spendl's name, and are not protected by any statutory deposit-insurance scheme. The Mastercard network is not stated on any Spendl-controlled page and is treated as unverified. Licensed as Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd trading as Spendl Technologies, FSP licence 53757, an exempt crypto asset FSP under the FSCA.

Similar Cards

Other crypto cards in the same region or category that may suit your spending profile:

What's changed

See all changes →

FAQ

What is the SPENDL Money Card?

The SPENDL Money Card is a crypto debit card offered by SPENDL Money (Cardware). It is available in South Africa and allows users to spend cryptocurrency at merchants worldwide.

What are the fees for the SPENDL Money Card?

The SPENDL Money Card has an annual fee of R25/month. Note: South African FSCA-licensed crypto-to-fiat debit card (launched Oct 30, 2025). Supports 12 cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, etc.) deposited from hardware/software wallets or exchanges, converted to ZAR same-day. Tiered account plans: R25,000 to R500,000 top-up limits. Worldwide Mastercard acceptance (40,000+ merchants). Free nationwide card delivery in South Africa. R99 account opening fee. Bank-level security via regulated bank partner. No cashback — primary value prop is legal, transparent crypto-to-fiat conversion in South Africa. CORRECTION (2026-08-27): the R99 account fee previously recorded appears in no official document; the published fee is R25 per month. Published fees also include international point of sale at R45.00 plus 1.56%, local ATM at R12.50 plus R2.50 per R100, international ATM at R100.00 flat, and card replacement at R100.00. The previously recorded description of bank-level security via a regulated bank partner is contradicted by Spendl's own terms, which state that ZAR balances sit in a pooled client account at a licensed third-party payment provider, are not bank deposits in Spendl's name, and are not protected by any statutory deposit-insurance scheme. The Mastercard network is not stated on any Spendl-controlled page and is treated as unverified. Licensed as Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd trading as Spendl Technologies, FSP licence 53757, an exempt crypto asset FSP under the FSCA.

Does the SPENDL Money Card require KYC?

Yes. The SPENDL Money Card requires full identity verification (KYC): expect to submit a government-issued ID, and often proof of address, before the card is issued.

Which countries is the SPENDL Money Card available in?

The SPENDL Money Card is available in South Africa.

Is the SPENDL Money Card a credit or debit card?

The SPENDL Money Card is a debit card. You need to load cryptocurrency onto the card before making purchases.

Visit SPENDL Money (Cardware)

Want to see your annual earnings? Use the ROI Calculator to estimate net cashback at your spending level, or compare cards side by side.